Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Holy SpiritThese gifts are mentioned in chapter eleven of the Book of Isaiah to describe the Messiah. With the coming of Christ and the sending of the Holy Spirit, followers of Jesus receive a share in these gifts. They include:

  1. wisdom to value the things of heaven over those of earth;
  2. understanding to comprehend religious truth;
  3. counsel to choose well in serving God;
  4. fortitude to make sacrifices in living the faith;
  5. knowledge to follow the way of the Lord;
  6. piety to put one's trust in God;
  7. fear of the Lord to give God and his laws due respect.